Tightrope – 3 Cohens

With each and every album, the 3 Cohens have furthered the scope of their music and broadened the definition of togetherness. They may take risks, walking tightropes with nary a net in sight, but they do so together, with hearts and minds linked through music.

– All About Jazz


01. Blueport
02. Conversation
03. Song Without Words
04. Conversation, Pt. 2
05. Black
06. Just Squeeze M
07. Hot House
08. There's No You
09. Estate
10. Conversation, Pt. 3

Exclusive Track: Blueport

11. Indiana
12. I Mean You
13. It Might As Well
14. Festive Minor
15. Conversation, Pt. 4
16. Conversation, Pt. 5
17. Ai Li Lu Li Lu
18. Mantra

The 3 Cohens discuss their October 22, 2013 release on Anzic Records, Tightrope.

Tightrope - 3 Cohens

20013 Anzic Records

The best jazz groups are made up of kindred spirits, but the rare family band has something more – an intuitive feel for each other that goes beyond words and gestures to a kind of bred-in-the-bone telepathy. The 3 Cohens are that sort of uncommon collective, a trio of siblings – tenor saxophonist/clarinetist Anat Cohen, trumpeter Avishai Cohen and soprano saxophonist Yuval Cohen – whose sense of improvisational interplay is both uncannily fluent and wonderfully, infectiously warm. In Tightrope the group digs deep to explore this connection in an unaccompanied setting. Stellar guests Fred Hersch, Christian McBride and Jonathan Blake individually add their voices to the conversation.


• Anat Cohen, clarinets and tenor sax
• Avishai Cohen, trumpet
• Yuval Cohen, soprano saxophone 
• Fred Hersch, piano (#3, #9, #12)
• Christian McBride, double-bass (#6)
• Jonathan Blake, drums (#5) 


• Produced by Oded Lev-Ari & the 3 Cohens
• Recorded at Systems Two, Brooklyn; engineered by Joseph Marciano, assisted by Max Ross 
• Mixed and edited by Brian Montgomery; mastered by Mark Wilder at Sony Music Studios