Released April 3, 2007

Joined by a quartet of downtown Manhattan jazz luminaries and a string quartet, Cohen plays clarinet with a total command of the instrument. She sensitively renders, Coltrane’s “Lonnie’s Lament,” a biting Brel chanson, a ballad by Brazilian songwriter, Cavaquinho, four Israeli songs, two of her own originals and one by Avital.

"Clarinetist Anat Cohen is the leader, and this is an album she has wanted to record for some time, to share some of what [she has] learned about playing the clarinet in various musical contexts. These are songs, Cohen writes, that she has loved for years. And it's easy to understand why, as they truly are lovely."  – All About Jazz

+ Players

Anat Cohen (tenor alto/soprano saxes & clarinet)
Oded Lev-Ari (arranger/conductor)
Ted Nash (alto soprano saxes/flute)
Billy Drewes (tenor sax/clarinet)
Scott Robinson (baritone sax/bass clarinet)
Frank Greene, Avishai Cohen & Tanya Darby (trumpets/flugelhorn)
Yonatan Voltzok & Deborah Weisz (trombones)
Erik Friedlander, Greg Heffernan & Robert Burkhart (cellos)
Guilherme Monteiro (guitar)
Barak Mori (bass)
Duduka Da Fonseca, Ali Jackson Jr. & Antonio Sanchez (drums)

01) Agada Yapanit (A Japanese Tale)
02) Hofim (Beaches)
03) The Purple Piece
04) Eyn Gedi
05) La Chanson Des Vieux Amants
06) Lonnie’s Lament

07) Quando Eu Me Chamar Saudade
08) La Casa Del Llano
09) Niguneem
10) Cypresses

+ Press Quotes

“Poetica”…is the most lyrical of the two releases, an imaginatively arranged session showcasing Cohen’s mastery of the clarinet. … She’s not only in fine form, her tone delightfully fluid and assured, but also in fine company…
– Washington Post, May 11, 2007

Especially on clarinet, Cohen’s is a compelling and original voice of great promise.
– The New York Sun, May 8 2007

…both records share her round romantic tone and her restless world-embracing spirit. Where Noir is large and all-embracing, Poetica is tighter, sharper, and more personal.
– Pop Matters, April 16, 2007

Cinematic, with its emotionally expressive ability to conjure scenes and settings, the ten tracks move in a rhythmic current. Cohen appears to be sidling up to a melodic tradition that suits her.
– All About Jazz NY, May 5, 2007

The work features the string quartet’s note-perfect, deeply expressive performance of Avital’s late-romantic/impressionist arrangement.
– JazzTimes, June 2007 issue