Released: September 25th, 2012

Anat Cohen – celebrated the world over for her expressive virtuosity on clarinet and saxophone, not to mention the sheer joie de vivre in her charismatic stage presence – presents the latest record of her evolution with Claroscuro, her sixth album as a bandleader. Claroscuro takes its title from the Spanish word describing the play of light and shade (chiaroscuro in Italian). The album ranges from deliciously buoyant dances to darkly lyrical ballads, with live-in-the-studio spontaneity a priority; moreover, Claroscuro showcases Cohen’s fluency in a global set of styles, from the creolized chanson of New Orleans and the evergreen swing of an Artie Shaw tune to African grooves and Brazilian choro, samba and more. Cohen was joined in the studio by her ace working band – pianist Jason Lindner, bassist Joe Martin and drummer Daniel Freedman – as well as special guests: trombonist/vocalist Wycliffe Gordon, percussionist Gilmar Gomes & clarinetist Paquito D’Rivera.


+ Players

Anat Cohen (clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano & tenor saxophone)
Jason Lindner (piano)
Joe Martin (bass)
Daniel Freedman (drums)
Paquito D’Rivera (clarinet: 05, 07, 09 & 10)
Wycliffe Gordon (trombone 02 & 07) & (vocal: 02)
Gilmar Gomes (percussion: 06, 09 & 10)

01) Anat's Dance
02) La Vie en Rose
03) All Brothers
04) As Rosas Nao Falam
05) Nightmare
06) Tudo Que Voce Podia Ser
07) And the World Weeps
08) Olha Maria
09) Kick Off
10) Um x Zero
11) The Wedding